jump to navigation

Rocking, Rolling, and Running June 22, 2009

Posted by thepixelsuite in marathon, Running.
Tags: , ,
trackback

26.2 miles of fun. No really.
When Thursday dawns, I’m heading north to Seattle.

After months of training runs, multiple pairs of running shoes, and lots of GU, I’m ready to take to the streets of Seattle for its inaugural Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon. Twenty-six miles starting in Tukwila before heading toward downtown , north to Lake Union and then back south to Qwest Field. Passing near the finish line twice (at about miles 13 and 24) before crossing it will be tough. But I know the energy of all the other runners, the enthusiasm of the volunteers and spectators, and, of course, the pulsing music of bands stationed along the route-a Rock ‘n’ Roll trademark-will help me across the finish line.

I’ve been fortunate to have had a great training period which I started shortly after finishing the Napa Valley Marathon in March. As race day approaches I’ve felt stronger and more confident as I run. I believe I’ve even gotten over my sun/heat aversion and have proven to myself I can run well in those conditions. And, perhaps most important, this has been the first time I’ve trained to run a marathon without sustaining any sidelining injury. No IT Band problems, hip issues, or foot ailments. Just weeks of relatively pain-free running, and now I’m ready to experience the all the rolling hills and lovely scenery Seattle has to offer.

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

Comments»

1. RoadBunner - June 22, 2009

Good luck! Sounds like you’re all set to have an awesome race!

2. Mom - June 24, 2009

Hope you have a great time – I mean the running time. And have fun!


Leave a Reply

