jump to navigation

Marathon Training January 5, 2009

Posted by thepixelsuite in Running.
trackback

I’m planning to attend tomorrow’s informational meeting for the San Francisco Marathon Training Program. The meeting starts at 7:00 pm at the Potrero Hill Sports Basement. This time last year I was contemplating whether or not to sign up for one of the marathon training programs as I was getting ready for the SFM, and I decided not to. By January I had developed training habits which might not be recognized by other runners, but they were working for me. I was afraid an actual training program would change too much of my routine and would undercut my motivation and ability to run 26.2. A year later and a little wiser, I recognize the possible benefits of engaging in a supervised training program, and that’s why I’m going to tomorrow’s meeting. My hope is the program has a coaching component so I can get tips on things like nutrition, stretching, and how to improve my running and speed. If the program merely revolves around getting a group of people together to run, I’m afraid I’ll have to pass. Motivation to run isn’t my concern right now, but learning how to do it better is.

For more information on The Official San Francisco Marathon and Half Marathon Training Program, click here.

Update: The meeting was well attended, and many of the attendees were first-time marathoners and half-marathoners. The presenters were enthusiastic, encouraging, and had a lot of good information about the programs offered. I’d would love to sign up for the 18-week program, but the price tag scares me off. After all, why pay for something you’ve been doing for free, right? Of course, that discounts all of the coaching and camaraderie a program like this offers, so I may have to get over my money issues and sign up.

What kind of supervised training have you done?

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Comments»

1. wxjunkie - January 19, 2009

The best supervised training I have ever had is simple: a running buddy. Call it, runners with benefits. Seriously though, a friend and myself set up a strict schedule to train for a half-marathon last year. We stuck to it for the most part and made it through together. We served as great motivators for each other and while it wasn’t led by an expert running coach, we had a great time.

-Derek

thepixelsuite - January 19, 2009

Congratulations on completing your half. As for me, the jury’s still out on the training program. After all, why pay for something I’m already doing for free? I guess the answer has to do with the many things about training for endurance events a program like this can provide. Information on nutrition, stretching, and running form, for example. In the meantime, I’m going to finish up my self-training for my second marathon, and then decide what I want to do.

2. Bookfool, aka Nancy - January 23, 2009

My husband and I have just joined a marathon training program and I’m already a big fan of the benefits. I’ve run in the past and sucked up all the info I could read, but there are still a lot of tips you can learn from veteran marathoners. Best of luck on your training and congrats on your 100th post!


Leave a Reply

