jump to navigation

Running Into The New Year January 2, 2009

Posted by thepixelsuite in Fitness, Running.
Tags: , ,
trackback
What does this picture have to do with running?

What does this picture have to do with running?

2009 has officially begun, and as day two draws to a close here on the West Coast I bet folks are still sticking to the resolutions they made for the new year. I didn’t make any concrete resolutions myself (which means no one will ever know whether or not I’ve kept them), but in 2009 I would like to continue my running, eat better, get more sleep, and cultivate a healthier lifestyle. I’m definitely cheating by not quantifying those goals with a resolution, but I can’t imagine keeping some sort of sleep log to make sure I’m putting in more zzzzzs.

As for the running, I was hoping to get in a few miles on New Year’s Day to bring in the new year on the right foot. I even moderated the New Year’s Eve drinking the night before so I would feel good the next morning and would be motivated to hit the pavement. But a mid-morning lethargy washed over me as I sat around drinking coffee with my family and dearest friends with whom we spend each New Year’s. Instead of putting in some miles, a group of us headed out in the early afternoon for a couple of sets of “tennis”. So, I got the heart rate up a little bit having a blast with my friends chasing tennis balls around the court, but I missed the opportunity to run in the new year.

Today I didn’t have anything else going on, so I was able to put in my first run of 2009, which I hope is not a harbinger of things to come. This was one of those struggle days when one can’t wait for the run to be over. Tired legs, gusty, capricious winds, sharing sidewalks with jumpy pedestrians, and the guy who almost rolled me up onto the hood of his car all made for an unappealing run. I’m glad it was only six miles, although I’m sure I could have gutted out another mile or two if that’s what the schedule called for. Some days are just going to be tough like that, though, and I’m already looking forward to putting today’s experience behind me and having a good run tomorrow.

In fact I started the healing process as soon as I got back home. I noticed the wind had scattered a whole bunch of vivid yellow ginkgo leaves on the rain-soaked sidewalk outside of my apartment. I ran inside, grabbed my camera, then ran back out and snapped some pictures including the one above. And that’s one of the things I like most about this whole running and fitness gig–seeing and experiencing moments as fleeting as the windswept randomness of leaves on a city sidewalk each time I go out for a run. Sure there’s time in the day for a little television or work on the computer, but I believe it’s important to get outside if you can and see what’s happening in the community around you as you streak past.

Oh, and as for some more concrete running resolutions, I’ll sit down in the next few weeks and plan out which marathons I’d like to enter in 2009. Until then, you can check out my profile on dailymile to see the one goal I have set for myself this year.

What are your 2009 fitness goal or goals? Leave a note in comments.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Comments»

1. Julianne - January 2, 2009

That’s a great photo! And an awesome goal for the Napa Valley Marathon. I haven’t signed up yet but that’s my next marathon in the works.

thepixelsuite - January 2, 2009

Thanks. As for the NVM I’m hoping the sloping course profile will help me a bit! See you there.

2. Mary McManus - January 3, 2009

This is so awesome because today I focused on the winter scene which surrounded us on our training run and there was one leaf in the middle of Jamaica Pond that was skating along the icy surface until it fell into the water. I did my blog post before reading yours .:) I love synchronicity. Here’s to a safe, healthy, prosperous and all around fabulous 2009. God bless!

thepixelsuite - January 3, 2009

Thanks for the New Year’s wishes and may your 2009 be glorious as well (especially Boston).


Leave a Reply

