jump to navigation

Not A Total Disaster November 28, 2008

Posted by thepixelsuite in Culinary.
Tags: , ,
trackback

As you can see in the picture below, the pie crust for the Thanksgiving pie wasn’t a total disaster.

I've seen worse.

Instead of making the dough completely by hand, I was going to take up a suggestion from qbubbles to use frozen dough I would just have to roll out and place into my pie pan. That is, until I was turned on to Betty Crocker Pie Dough Mix which only requires water and a bit of elbow grease to make a tasty crust. After all, I still wanted to perfect rolling my own, since that’s part of the scratch process. I also had it on unimpeachable authority that a well-known baking expert and cookbook author claims this particular brand makes the best-tasting crust next to making one from scratch. So after mixing and letting the dough rest, I commenced to rolling, and that’s where things start to fall apart, literally. Despite my best efforts at turning, flipping, and flouring, my dough didn’t end up with a nice, crisp edge which would make for beautiful crimping. Instead the edge of my dough looked more like a fractal.

Despite my crust concerns the proof, they say, is in the pudding, or in this case the filling. And everyone agreed my pumpkin pie hit the spot after a big Thanksgiving dinner. Next time, though, I’m going to check out the ready-to-roll dough.

The final result.

The final result.

Comment on how did your holiday fare fared.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Comments»

1. Drew d'Avis - November 28, 2008

That’s a good looking pie—nice work, Mr. Pixel.

2. thepixelsuite - November 28, 2008

You’re very kind, Drew. Thank you.

3. perpetualplum - November 28, 2008

Hi Todd! Your pie looks great. Who cares if you didn’t do the Martha Stewart pinched edges!

Let me tell you about my first making experience many years ago.

My mom had just found a great recipe for beer bread and we were making a lot of it. When Thanksgiving came, I decided to make my very first pie from scratch. I was 12. I used the flour available in the house at the time. Unfortunately, it was the flour for beer bread. If you don’t know about beer bread, it calls for self-rising flour. Needless to say, I had a very fluffy pie crust on my very first pumpkin pie. 😉

I’ve improved my technique quite a bit over the (I won’t say how many) years. I think you’re well on your way to being a pie master.

4. thepixelsuite - November 28, 2008

Thanks perpetualplum. I love your story, and it reminds me to check and double check the recipe before I launch into it. And, although I love the recipe off the can I may add a bit more clove since I like a spicier pie, too.

The dough, though, is my Achilles heel. I work on cooking shows as part of my living, and I’m tired of seeing chef after chef making terrific looking dough, while my efforts have the ragged edges of an unbordered puzzle. Oh well. We all have our strengths.


Leave a Reply

