jump to navigation

The Green Meal October 8, 2008

Posted by thepixelsuite in Culinary.
Tags: , , ,
trackback
It just looks healthy.

It just looks healthy.

Since I do my training runs after work, I haven’t been doing as much cooking as I usually do…for about a year now. Because I’ve been laid up waiting for my hip to feel better, though, I have put the old apron back on and gotten back into the kitchen. Of course, then I’m back to putting together two different proteins-meat for me, the carnivore, and fish for Trish, the vegetarian. Oh, I’ll eat fish, too, and sometimes I’ll do pasta for us both, but tossing a rib eye or a tri tip into the broiler is just so damn easy and ends up tasting great.

Inspired by a Runner’s World article, however, I thought I’d join the other side last night and put together a strictly vegetarian meal. Attributed to Scott Jurek an “ultrunning phenom”, I made, Sweet Potatoes with Garlicky Greens. The sweet potatoes were a revelation. A nice crunch on the outside with a creamy and, well, sweet inside is a terrific way to take in a few carbs. The greens, on the other hand, need a little work. They suffered from what I dislike most about vegetarian meals. That is, they looked great, but didn’t really taste all that good. Admittedly I used kosher salt instead of sea salt, which makes a big difference, but I didn’t get any heat from the jalapeno, and I can always go for a little more garlic. Perhaps next time some red pepper flakes or a touch of balsamic vinegar. Anything to perk up something that’s really good for you.

Below is the recipe reproduced without permission from Runner’s World (please don’t sue me guys!)

Scott’s Sweet Potatoes with Garlicky Greens

Potatoes

4 sweet potatoes, sliced in wedges
1 tablespoon olive or canola oil
1 1/2 teaspoons sea salt
1 teaspoon paprika
1 teaspoon rosemary

Garlicky Greens

1 tablespoon olive oil
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 jalapeño pepper, deseeded and minced (optional)
1 bunch of kale, collards, or chard, deveined and coarsely chopped
1/2 teaspoon sea salt or tamari

Sweet Potatoes: Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Toss potatoes with oil and seasonings. Arrange on a preseasoned baking sheet. Bake for 20 to 30 minutes until potatoes are cooked through and lightly browned. Garlicky Greens: Preheat skillet and olive oil. Sauté garlic and pepper for one to two minutes. Add greens and salt. Sauté for five to eight minutes. Serves four.

Calories Per Serving: 230 Carbs: 38 g Protein: 4 g Fat: 7 g

Hey, we’re building a community here, so leave a comment!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Comments»

1. The Writing Runner - October 8, 2008

Hey, that DOES look really good! 🙂

2. thepixelsuite - October 8, 2008

Yeah, it wasn’t bad, but I think I can do better.


Leave a Reply

