jump to navigation

Vote For Smith! October 7, 2008

Posted by thepixelsuite in Politics.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Obama!

Walking through the neighborhood today on my way to pick up a much-needed cup of coffee, I came across the homemade sign above. I couldn’t help but smile at this display of unironic passion, and I could picture the scene as the family put together this example of rousing partisan support. Dad patiently spelling out O-B-A-M-A, while Mom cuts out big pieces of paper. “What color should the ‘O’ be?” asks one child, while his sister carefully paints a big, blue M. The letters, and a couple of attendant stars and flowers affixed to the windows then outside to view the result.

And it was then I was struck with the idea of where our political identities come from. For many people, their college years are the first time they think about politics or political affiliation. For others it may be when they get out into the workforce and, as a result of their particular job, are exposed to the political influence of one party or another. For many of us I suspect it starts much earlier than that. I don’t think it’s much of a stretch to say your party affiliation is influenced by your parents.

Ours was a union household, and much of the kitchen table talk revolved around construction job sites and paying bills. I grew up in the era of Watergate, and I can remember watching some of the 1976 Democratic convention with my mom. Even though my parents never told me to vote one way or another, and even though I don’t remember asking them what party they belonged to, I’m pretty sure my party affiliation was secured at that kitchen table. In that way, party identification works just like advertising. If a given company can hook us into using their product or service when we’re young, they’ll have a customer for life.

Will the tots who put together this sign with their parents turn out to be lifelong Democrats? The answer may lie in the little extra sign they attached to the right-most window.

Change we can believe in!

Change we can believe in!

We’re trying to build community here, so leave a comment!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Comments»

1. Trish - October 7, 2008

Same at our house: pro-labor Dems as far back as I can remember. We’re Catholic, though, so after Roe v Wade some family members were persuaded to narrow their vote down to a single issue when that became the Republican clarion call for dividing the electorate. Not sure what it would take to make me vote against the party, it would have to be pretty egregious.

by the same token, the Republicans did a pretty good job organizing clean cut college republicans in the 90’s. Wonder if any of that lot is thinking of changing parties now.

2. thepixelsuite - October 7, 2008

Ah yes. The abortion issue. I don’t think I’ve given enough thought to those wedge issues which seem to blind people and fool them into voting against their own interests. At least with abortion there is a question of ethics and morality. But taxes? The size of government? Please. At least


Leave a Reply

