jump to navigation

Finally A Recovery Run August 12, 2008

Posted by thepixelsuite in Fitness, Running.
Tags: ,
trackback
Run

Run

It’s been a little over a week since the SF Marathon, and I’ve been itching to start running again. The schedule I’ve been following had me resting for a week after the marathon in order to properly recover, but I felt ready to go by last Wednesday. But I had a lot going on last week, and then we went camping, so I wasn’t able to get back out there. Instead I kept reading posts from other runners about their first runs after the marathon, jealous I couldn’t get out and run myself. Until last night.

I was a little anxious as I changed into my running kit and worked through my stretches. Would I be able to run any distance after such a long lay-off? Would pain in my legs or hips quickly flare up? I had never been in this position before, and I didn’t know what to expect. But I have some goals in mind, so I need to get back out there and start pushing myself toward them. So, my plan was to take it easy my first time out and lightly jog my standard neighborhood route.

Yeah, right.

Simply put, I put in a terrific, pain-free five mile run through Noe Valley and the Mission. Instead of a slow recovery run, I clocked in at a respectable 7:29 mile pace. While one of my goals is to run longer distances at a much faster pace, I don’t want to overdo it at the outset and get needlessly injured. But I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t happy when I plugged my time into a pace calculator and came up with such a quick pace. Can I keep it up? We’ll see. That’s part of the allure and excitement of the running experience.

photo by naylori

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

