jump to navigation

Farmers Market Saturday February 16, 2008

Posted by thepixelsuite in Culinary.
trackback

Another glorious Saturday in San Francisco so we decided to take in the Farmers Market at the Ferry Building. I could really get used to these warm spring-like days, and apparently so could everyone else in San Francisco, since the market was jam-packed with citizens and tourists alike. Everyone seemed to be in a good mood sampling, squeezing and smelling the fruits and veggies on display. We picked up some tasty oranges, vegetables, and lovely-scented lavender, but I was also on the hunt for some humanely raised meat. I had read a little bit about Prather Ranch on Chris Cosentino’s blog , and, since they had a storefront at the Ferry Building, I thought I’d pick up a little something and find out how humanely raised and slaughtered meat tasted. (You can see the store to the left in the photo taken inside the Ferry Building.) During the transaction the fellow behind the counter found out it was the first time I had sampled his wares. He reached back into his case and pulled out a bit of ground beef and told me to take it. If what he said is true, I will have a transformative experience eating this beef. Regardless, his generosity may just have created a customer (perhaps infrequently) for life. In the meantime, until I make this heavenly burger, I’m rooting for Prather Ranch. Enjoy the slide show.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

